Nestled on the Eastern edge of the Huon Peninsula the Scenic Finschhafen district was first charted by the British navigator Captain John Moresby in 1873–1874. It was the German scientist and explorer Otto Finsch who gave his name to the town in 1884. It became a colonial station with a Lutheran mission as part of the Colony of German New Guinea up until its abandonment in 1901. During the Second World War, Dragerhaffen (Dreger Harbour) was used by Allied forces after the capture of Finschhafen in October 1943, becoming the main U.S. Navy PT Boat base in New Guinea until June 15, 1944. Today the villages of the Dregerhafen mainland are home to many resettled Tami Islanders, along with a mixture of local Yabim people and immigrants from the Siassi Islands and Markham Valley. Today guests will be treated to a traditional welcome and cultural performance.